UPDATE: Aug. 31 is deadline for all extended vehicle registration, titling requirements
On July 2, Gov. Pete Ricketts rescinded his executive order extending the due date for Nebraskans to complete vehicle titling and registration requirements. To ensure residents have enough time complete the process, instead of the original 30-day notice period, the Governor created a deadline of Aug. 31.
Individuals who purchased a new vehicle or whose existing vehicle registration expired on or after March 1, 2020, must complete titling and registration requirements by Aug. 31. For customers required to pay sales tax, failure to complete the process by Aug. 31 may result in penalty and interest being applied.
In March, Governor Pete Ricketts issued an executive order to increase flexibility in requirements for Nebraska residents relating vehicle registration requirements. The Governor is extending vehicle titles and registrations expiring on or after March 1.
Any vehicle title requirements, registrations, in-transit tags or motor carrier temporary documents that expire on or after March 1 will be extended until 30 days after the executive order is lifted.
Does this apply to you? Read the FAQ!